5 West African States aim for no roaming charges by end of March

Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Senegal and Togo have all now agreed to that no roaming fees will be charged by operators when their customers travel between these countries. The agreement, which was announced late last year, is to be in place by March 31 2017, although further details have not been made public.

At the same time, the ECOWAS Commission, of which these countries are all member states, is in the process of drawing up a roadmap and model regulations for eliminating roaming fees from all of West Africa. A similar initiative is under way in East Africa.